Home made boiler, new at posting here

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

feader72

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
View attachment 211117View attachment 211118First time Posting:

I am very new to this posting thing, I built my own wood boiler with secondary air tubes (kinda of like down draft intake) and am looking for critique/ideas/improvements before I bring the boiler on-line later this week.

Run down on construction of boiler firebox, it is square and the top portion has angle iron instead of flat plate, the angle iron is supposed to act as a form of baffles etc. to siphon more heat off the burn, it allowed for more steel surface area also. its 1/4" plate with 1/4" angle for top. Firebox is lined with firebrick and has secondary air tubes. etc.

Water jacket around firebox is 3" and the water jacket outer wall thickness is 1/8" (actually a little thicker, 10 ga).

Logs sit on a grate to allow air to flow under logs.

Intake air is controlled by water temperature, its called "water boiler draft/air controller" at this link : Boiler Room Equipment | Pre-owned Equipment - Division of The Engineer Company I chose this due to its simplicity and electricity is not needed to operate it.

This new boiler system is open system/non pressurized, has an elevated tank for gravity fed expansion, has an 80 gallon hot water heater storage tank that is insulated. Heated water will circulate to heat exchanger inside house, where current pressurized boiler will be hooked to the other side of heat exchanger. Current home propane pressured boiler also heats DHW via Amatrol hotwater maker tank on its own zone. The wood boiler itself is also insulated and it is put in an outdoor shed which has been also insulated, I don't know if it would qualify to call it an OWB?? Got a good deal on CB's thermal pex to the shed which has already been buried.