How do I get into EAB Treatment/Prevention?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

corndogg

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hi all. EAB has hit Minneasota and suprised me and many others. I've been asked to treat un infected ash trees to prevent infestation. I've read about Xytect mostly and it looks like a good place to start.

Questions:

Xytect 2F or 75WSP?

Can I rig a lawn spray rig 300 gallon for soil injection use?

If not, what is the minimum equipment?

Pesticide license is required I imagine?

What other treatments are being used?

Any that last more than a year?

What's the best, cheapest place to get chemical?

One site has around a hundred ash, all in good condition from 4" to 20". I would treat all if were mine. They want to treat only half maybe to keep cost down. Seems foolish to me. Which would you treat?

Thanks in advance,
Jamie

I have no experience w/Xytect, so I can't help you there. I have however injected about 10,000 trees in 20 years w/everything from growth regulators and fruit reduction products to insecticides and fungicides. My experience w/EAB dates back to 1998 and I've logged about 2,500 Ash injections. I've used mostly imidicloprid as Arbor Jet's Ima-Jet (5%) soil injection (10%) Mauget Imicide (35%) and Arbor Systems wedgle (50%). I have found soil injection to be the least effective. I believe 3 factors play into that, 1-EAB hits first in the 3/4" branches, I don't believe soil injection by itself gets a high enough PPM into those branches for control. 2- Most of the time soil injection units go too deep, below the primary roots that are capable of moving the product. Remember this is not about "translocation", as much as it is systemic absorbtion (soil injections, I believe should be done no deeper than 3"). 3- Imidicloprid binds VERY readily to the soil keeping it from the tree. I would seriously look into trunk inj