How to tell if wood has too much rot

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TomH83

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have no real firewood experience yet so bear with me here! On one side of my property a bunch of trees were felled around 1 1/2 years ago, and some large logs left around. The wood is oak. Since I have to get rid of these for some tree planting anyway, I've been cutting it up. Now some of it is obviously rotten and junk, while other stuff looks like it might be ok. How would I tell? Is a small ring on the outside of the log a good indicator of rot? And if so how much is acceptable for burning, if any? If it's no good I'll just chop it up enough to get rid of and not bother with it. If some of it is good I'd like to split and pile it. I'll be installing a wood stove between now and this fall.

4_2_2011005.jpg

I know this isn't a great picture but that's some of the bigger stuff, that pile looked decent to me. I can get better pictures of course. This wood has of course been on the ground for a while, but some was suspended up due to terrain etc.

Outer rot doesn't turn me off as much as inner rot.

Whatever you have for solid wood, is what will be "prime".

Were it me, I wouldn't waste anything unless it is all punky (spongey). :blob2:

That wood looks fine, I am cutting oak that's been blowed over more than two years now. It takes a long time for a trunk to rot. If you can push the heart of the log in with your finger, It is rotten. Now the outside still may be good. If it's still hard it's ok.

test it with a dull chain... hit it with the dull chain on your saw and if it cuts like butter its rotten...
if you go to pick it up by hand and it falls apart in your hand its rotten..
if you kick it and it d-centigrades on impact..its rotten..
:hmm3grin2orange::hmm3grin2orange::hmm3grin2orange::hmm3grin2orange: