Husqvarna 55 (1991-2001) "Plain" -> Air Injection

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Husse88

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm pretty new to Husqvarna saws and I finally got my hands on a decent running 55. Good compression, runs like a charm, etc...however, I quickly discovered it seems to be an older model without air injection. I tried to search & google about the main differences between this and the newer models, but found no information whatsoever. Only these pics, which indicates it is an older saw (no decomp, different air filter, WT-170 carb, etc.).

To the point: I would like to convert this saw, if possible/reasonable, to an "air injected" one and wondering if that is even possible (should be according to the parts list) and has anyone experience of it/benefits?

Thanks for all your answers, eager to learn more! Pics can be sent if necessary....

Welcome to the forum!
If I’m correct there is a recess and bolt holes in the case for the plastic air injection piece to go, and it’s not on the older models, so if its not air injected, I don’t think it’s possible to put one on the case.

The top is a non air injected model and the bottom is a newer air injected model, and you can see the recessed hole and bolt holes that the plastic piece screws into hope this helps!
8859D671-07FF-42FC-859B-6548CA6DD8FB.jpeg

Welcome to the forum!
If I’m correct there is a recess and bolt holes in the case for the plastic air injection piece to go, and it’s not on the older models, so if its not air injected, I don’t think it’s possible to put one on the case.

The top is a non air injected model and the bottom is a newer air injected model, and you can see the recessed hole and bolt holes that the plastic piece screws into hope this helps!
View attachment 1159594