I am new here, just asking questions about urban forestry and arboriculture

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Crazy88

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello! I have been browsing this site for a few days now and decided to become a member. I have some questions about the industry and I'll tell you a little about myself.

I am a Forestry student at Colorado State University and I really want to take a career path in municipal urban forestry. I currently work for the university grounds crew and will be working as a forestry maintenance tech for the city this summer. I graduate in Spring 2009. I also plan on getting a Class B CDL this spring and becoming ISA certified whenever I meet the requirements.

I want to work for a city working for their public works or forestry division as a tree trimmer or city forester once I have the experience. I have heard that the best way to get "in" with a city is to have previous tree trimming/climbing experience in the private sector. My dream job would be a tree trimmer or city forester for the city of Chicago. I have been researching Davey, Asplundh, and The Care of Trees in the suburban Chicago area to get some experience under my belt.

What are your thoughts on Davey, Asplundh, and The Care of Trees?
Whats the best way to get hired on by a suburb or city?
Can my 4 year degree be subsituted for some experience?

Thanks in advance! :cheers:

What are your thoughts on Davey, Asplundh, and The Care of Trees?
Whats the best way to get hired on by a suburb or city?
Can my 4 year degree be subsituted for some experience?

Thanks in advance! :cheers:

better off finding a smaller company than these ones.

other than that you set your own ceiling regarding doing what you want to do.