I hate when that happens

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Lol. I cant tell, but does he have spikes on. I do see a lanyard. He could of climbed back down. Also were is the groundie? Some one could have tossed up a throw line if they had one.

Hmmmm.....spikes, saddle, lanyard...everything you need to get back down...I guess the only thing he forgot to take up there was his bravery???

Maybe that fella should stay closer to the ground. I am also very new to this and I make really really sure of my safety and security - I set a lifeline BEFORE MY FEET EVER LEAVE THE GROUND and then I just rappel down on that when I am done. But....I could be doing it wrong too...I dunno.

I also learned yesterday (while 30 feet up in an oak) that when the heat index is 105....stay home!!!!! LOL ;)

Hmmmm.....spikes, saddle, lanyard...everything you need to get back down...I guess the only thing he forgot to take up there was his bravery???

Maybe that fella should stay closer to the ground. I am also very new to this and I make really really sure of my safety and security - I set a lifeline BEFORE MY FEET EVER LEAVE THE GROUND and then I just rappel down on that when I am done. But....I could be doing it wrong too...I dunno.

I also learned yesterday (while 30 feet up in an oak) that when the heat index is 105....stay home!!!!! LOL ;)

No, you're not doing it wrong. Even with spikes and lanyard, if he had cut himself badly he would have had a hard time spiking down one handed. Inhad a newb groundie one time not let a log run, and it swung back into me and dislocated three fingers on my left hand. Since I was tied in on my lifeline, it was a simple matter of releasing my lanyard and coming down one handed on my friction hitch. Would have been all sorts of fun to tie in one handed, which wasn't even an option for him since he didn't have a rope with him in the first place!