Is the Vermeer BC935 a good chipper?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Koa Man

Kahuna giganticus
Reaction score
I am looking for a small used chipper in very good to excellent condition to chip branches up to 6 inches and for palm fronds. The Morbark 2070 does very well but hard to find. The Gravely 395 I once owned also was very good. Both of those chippers are hard to find.

Do any of you have experience with the BC935? There are a couple for sale on the Tree Trader. Anyone dealt with California Tree Equipment before? I would like to hear your experiences. Thanks for any help. I would even consider something as small as a Bandit 65 if it is a decent chipper. I have no experience with them either. Open to all suggestions as well.

I'll bump this thread. I'm interested in hearing about BC935 and the Bandit 65. I've been thinking about the 65xl diesel. I have the odd small lot clearing job coming up this summer and wonder how theses machines would do for jobs like that.

I guess no one here has tried a BC935 or 65XP. I found a refurbished Whisper Chipper with 73hp Perkins diesel for $6500. Seriously considering getting it. Those chippers are simple, fast, and LOUD. The LOUDNESS is what is holding me back right now. I will keep searching for a couple more weeks. Unfortunately, none are located in Hawaii so I can't check them out personally.

I worked for 2 companies that had Vermeer BC935's Decent machine as long as you get the Perkins diesel engine. The one with the gas engine i used just didnt have the torque and ran alot of fuel compared to the diesel. Not a bad machine though considering the weight and size. The only thing about it is its a vermeer which they have there parts locked out so you have to go to the dealer to get anything fixed.. And that is pretty expensive.