knot used for flipline adjuster

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

defensiblespace

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I am new to climbing and have noticed that there are several climbers using a knot as the flipline adjuster as opposed to a mechanical ascending device. It is not a prussik. It looks more like some kind of a half hitch or clove hitch and is obviously self camming. What is this knot and how is it tied correctly on to the ring?

I use a hitch (VT, Distel) to attach the eye to eye prusik to the flip line. Some climbing hitches work better than others.

I am new to climbing and have noticed that there are several climbers using a knot as the flip line adjuster as opposed to a mechanical ascending device. It is not a prussic. It looks more like some kind of a half hitch or clove hitch and is obviously self camming. What is this knot and how is it tied correctly on to the ring?

I think you maybe talking about the suicide knot.(see recent post)Is it only one piece of rope used, no prussic or what not . It locks on its self using the D ring as an anchor point. If so its an excellent fool proof knot. Never did find out its real name.

I'm not a climber, but I think I know what you're asking. I have wondered the same thing, and have scoured the web trying to find an illustration of the set up.

My best guess at this point is that it is an adaptation of a sheet bend. Instead of tying two line together (as is the sheet bend is intended for) the flip line / scare strap is tied into a D-ring or metal loop on the harness.

If you look at this Wikipedia site for a sheet bend:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sheet_bend