Knowledge Test

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PTS

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Have any of you ever created or seen a "knowledge test" for either new hiring candidates or for current employees.

I would like this for two reasons. 1. To help qualify new applicants when they claim to know everything but really know nothing. Or if they claim to be experienced climbers. When you have several per application process a written test would take up less of my time. 2. To encourage my staff to expand there knowledge to better serve our customers. This would also help with the raises.

Ask someone form the big three...Asplundh Dave or Bartlett. Or the other place to look would be one of the unions.

Hire by attitude, then train for aptitude.

If you insist on tests for applicants, don't use psychological tests - all the good climbers would fail.:D

When I was a cop I always had to take a knowledge test when applying for a position. They would score and compare. I want to be able to do this and I would like to divide the test into sections so you could see what the strengths and weeknesses are.

PTS said:
When I was a cop I always had to take a knowledge test when applying for a position. They would score and compare. I want to be able to do this and I would like to divide the test into sections so you could see what the strengths and weeknesses are.
PTS-you are not hiring hundreds of people, why not just question them and use your cop instincts?