Leaning Tree Help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sdhershey

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I'm new at this type of work and have been learning all I can from my boss about cutting and bucking trees. I've been working around the house on our ten acre lot just practicing clearing some trees and sprucing the land up. I was cutting some tall poplars today and came to a tree with a slight bit of lean to it. I wanted it to fall in the opposite direction of the lean becuase that's where it had ideal space to fall. I figured I could cut my face cut, then start my back-cut until the saw pinched, insert a wedge and the tree would come right down. But I was wrong and even with the wedge all the way in it still had a little opposite lean. After thinking that it wasn't going to fall the way I wanted it to I pulled out the wedge and decided to fell it in the direction of the lean. I cut a second face cut and it came down without getting limb-locked. Luckily, it came down easily, but for the future I would like to figure out how to make it fall in the desired direction. Thanks ahead of time.
Scott