Learning to climb.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AngelofDarkness

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I am sort of a rookie to tree work although I have used saws for "ground" jobs for quite awhile. Climbing looks like a lot of fun and I would like to learn the basics. I am concerned I may be too big and tall, I'm 6'3" and about 240 lbs. Can I find climbing gear that will be comfortable? I am also kind of afraid of heights but climbing still sounds like fun. To top it off (no pun intended) I am not very good with ropes and knots, but somehow I would feel safer tied into a tree than on top of a wobbly ladder where one slip would make me fall.

Welcome,

Search around, actually there was another gentlemen who just joined the sight and he started a thread on the 101...i suggest you read is and search around a litte bit.

There are some suggested books and other material.

Tree Climbers Compain - To start great book

search around on google too...find a lot there

if you are looking for a really basic video corney but it shows knots. Tree Climbing basics.

I am not 6'2, only 5'10 but i am sure there are harnest that will fit you just fine.

Another recmondation the video section. Some great info in their.

Good luck and be safe

without a doubt man there is gear to fit you. I am 6'2'' and 225 lbs and have no problems. I bought a New Tribe Pro Gear saddle and it fits great. as for what i have seen climbing is more about being in shape rather than size to gain comfort and with time will come finesse to move around easier.

Cool. Where should I look for gear. I will have to pick up that climbing book too. I'm in decent shape, better than I look like I should be, I run, lift weights and throw around hand logs like they were kindling, I could probably even do 2-3 pull-ups.