Looking for a manual for a Craftsman 358.355061 16" Bar

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yowood

Reaction score
Sorry, I am a newbie and resurrected my Dad's old craftsman.
Looking for a manual on tightening my new chain and general operation...
I have put the chain on but the tightening screw next to the bar really doesn't adjust...
I cut a few times but have to think that I will toast the new chain quicker if not adjusted properly.
I know this is a toy compared to others but the saw has sentimental value.
I lost my Dad in March...
Thanks in advance
If you want to email me with any info I can be reached at [email protected]
Woody

Fish,
Thanks but the first thing I did was loosen the one bar nut and tried manipulating the screw.
I know the scew is a tighten adjust so I tried it loose First...
Any specific threads to read...Again sorry if I am sounding Naive.
Thanks Again
Woody

Remove the bar nut, and the screw in the rear and remove the cover. Look at the
gizmo that the screw goes into, and see if it is all of the way toward the front of the
saw. Turn the screw counter-clockwise, and see if it goes backwards without
binding. Once you do this, you will see how it works. If it is all of the way to the end of the saw, then you either need to remove a link from your chain, or your bar is splitting at the nose, and needs replacing, or both

You are very welcome here, and almost everybody here will be glad to help.
If you read these posts, and detect a lot of fighting and animosity, that is just testosterone poisoning, as we are all afflicted.