MS 660 rebuild advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fnkfab

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
hey gang:
I've been lurking on here for a while, but decided its time to start asking some questions directly. I'm pretty new to the chainsaw world-- maybe 2-3 years in. It started as a homeowner thing and quickly escalated to doing some sawmilling with a DIY alaskan mill, drying lumber, and taking on some jobs with a buddy and his portable band mill.

I picked up an MS 650 last year. It seems to run pretty well. No issues with power, starts well. It's pretty well loved though. The fan is missing a couple blades, the handle is a little floppy, and the brake handle is cracked. I've replaced the pull cord and the chain tensioner mechanism recently since those both snapped. More importantly, the spark plug threads in but likes to unthread and fall out and the compression measured at 125, oh and the decomp valve flops around a little so i can't tell if that's with the valve open or not. It runs "automatic" where it closes when the saw starts and opens otherwise.

I'm preparing to tear into this and start replacing items (fan, brake lever, handle grommets, decomp valve). I'm also figuring it'd be a good idea to replace the jug and piston and rebuild the carb to get this back to a clean slate. I've got a copy of the service manual and I've watched through a couple youtube vids.

What do you all think? Sound like a plan? My plan was to drop a meteor 660 jug and piston since i understand the saws are otherwise the same. Anything to watch out for?
A57F9D1E-831D-48DA-881B-006E340BAC67.JPG

Yes, get into that saw and replace those parts mentioned above. I would avoid any aftermarket fuel lines, piston/cylinders, and more.
That cylinder- if the plug is loose and the threads are jeopardized, it should be fixed. Timesert insert or welding/retapping are the best options.