ms193t spark plug thread repair

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cedarhollow

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Today I went to local pawn shop and this stihl ms 193t followed me home for a grand total of $63.
It is missing the oil cap and the spark plug threads are stripped.
I have used helicoils for many years as they are standard fare in outboard repair but I have never done a 10mm spark plug before with compression as high as what many good chainsaws have. Outboards have maybe 120 psi rebuilt with new wiseco pistons and head shaved flat and level or with low compression head gasket can be 60-80 psi.
Should I get the heli-coil kit or the Time-sert kit, anyone have any experience with either.
thanks much from an arborsite newby

I think time-sirt kits will be more effective. They aren't much and it's worth a shot. If it fails it would be best to get a new cylinder.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have search the internet for a new cylinder and unless they are the same as the 192t the only one I found was on ebay for $250 that seems a bit much although I would have a rebuilt saw. The Time-sert brand kit is $94 on amazon. One thing I am wondering about are the outside threads on the inserts a common thread that I could buy a tap for or is it a custom cut tap just for the inserts as most Heli-coils taps are. I am not sure which way to go on this. It would be a real nice addition to my saw lineup. A real back saver for sure.

Wow, that is expensive. I would post about looking for a cylinder in the trading post. You got a fair deal on the saw for needing a new cylinder, so hopefully you can fine a used one. I would not recommend spending $95 on a time sert kit because it can't be guaranteed to work.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Time Serts are expensive, but are the best.
No equal IMO.