MS360 Pro Build

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lholzen

Reaction score
Hello, my name is Lucas and I'm 20. I'm new here and this is my first post. I worked as an arborist in high school for a friend but decided to get out of it after I watched a coworker almost get killed. I still love saws though. My uncle is a logger and gave me an older MS360 pro and I want to get a piston to replace the stock one so it can make higher compression. I want to run high-octane fuel and get more power out since I love the saw. I love the saw but it needs more torque. I've built saws and done port work before but I'd rather get a bigger piston for this one—any ideas as to where I might find one the use?

I believe stock it has a 9.6-1 compression at 120 psi but I'd like it to be 11-1 or somewhere near there so I can run 105 or 110 octane drag racing fuel, methanol, or even a nitromethane/methanol blend. It has a 48mm cylinder and piston.

I'm new to this side of saw building so if there's anything I need to know please say it. I have no pride coming into this and I'm very excited to learn more about this.

Thank you everyone!

Chainsaw even new ones are vary low compression ratio but stock cylinder compression should be around 150psi. Even if you have the cylinder machined to up your compression to say 200psi I doubt you would need to more than 87 octane.

What you need to do is talk to someone that does machine work on these and have the band and base cut, also running a bigger piston/cylinder will give you roughly the same compression but will increase your displacement.

What kind of saw are you wanting to build? Work saw or race saw? Figure out what you want out of your saw and everyone here will help you with what you need to do to build it.