My First... and likely my last...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm about half done splitting the big Sugar Mable. I've never worked hard maple before, but after reading on AS what great firewood it is I went with it. Well, it better be darn great firewood because it's a huge pain-in-the-azz to split... and even more of a pain to stack. I'd rather split elm, at least most of that has straight grain instead of this curvy, twisty stuff. I've got a small mountain of un-stackable uglies for burnin' in the fire pit, way, way more than I get from workin' oak... or elm. If I was in the business of selling firewood I'd haf'ta add an aggravation fee to this stuff.

Y'all can keep your hard maple... this is my first and probably my last. I can't see puttin' myself through the aggravation again when there are dozens of oak, ash and even standing-dead elm in my woodlot.

Can hardly believe its more difficult than some of the Elm I have had the displeasure of working with , will have to trust you on this one because I have never been around the Hard Maple. Have Fun!:msp_wink:

Ron

Spider I am in the same boat only with Elm instead of Hard Maple. I have never had the honor of any Hard Maple but a couple of months ago I posted a thread about tackling a fresh cut elm. I suppose everyone has to try each of these and form their own opinion but I can't see any more Elm in my near, or distant future. Might not be the right way to look at it but Elm to me is just to hard on me and my equipment. If your Maple put up as big a fight as the Elm I cut and split my hat is off to you and I will have an extra cold one tonight in your honor.

Nope… got no pictures of the actual splitting.