My first project, 440 with 460BB P&C. Need advice.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Isna

Logging and sharing it (teaching)
. AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
I had a 440 parts saw hanging around and needed a bigger saw. I therefore decided to rebuild my 440 with a 460 big bore P&C. I got plenty of info on how to do this brousing around previous theads. I added a modded muffler, full wrap bar...
I still have a few questions:
With this setup, can I run a 8 pin rim with a 24" bar?
I am still waiting for the parts (some are on backorder) but I am already worried about adjusting the carb. This is my first project and, although I've been using saws for years, I am still uneasy about adjusting the carb. Any advice? (I only have basic tools.)
Finally, my 440 has a basic (nylon?) mesh filter. With a bigger P&C, modded muffler and possibly some porting job, should I improve the air intake? How?
Thanks for your help and sorry for any spelling mistakes (I'm French)...

I have plenty of other saws at work. This saw would be used occasionally at home. I usually use my 2163 on my land but would like a more powerfull saw for bigger trees (32" oak...). This will not be a race saw but, since it will not be my main saw, I wouldn't mind if it performs like a race saw. Just for the fun...
what would be the max RPM for this setup?

dont worry so much about RPMS. u need to deck the cyl head a little (called squish).... someone with more smarts on stihl can tell u how much... grind out the intake, exhaust and transfers. be very careful not to move the ports up or down unless u know what ur doin with degree wheel. u can widen the ports a little if u want. gut the muffler or just drill some extra big holes in the front of it. a stihl guru can give u the degree timing numbers and exact squish. again THIS IS ONLY BASIC CHANGES