need a good chainsaw mechanic in Oregon or nor cal.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi, my mechanic got a job with Stihl as some kind of northwest tech troubleshooter and moved away😢. I sometimes need hands on help and hate tp pay 100$ an hour. Do you know anyone close to southern Oregon, maybe even a good amateur? ( cuz I'm a bad amateur). If you can think of anyone, let me know, or maybe you can help, but I really need someone who can actually look at the saw David IN Talent OR

There is myrtle creek saw shop in Roseburg, that is very reputable. Not too bad if a drive from yas.

Not much that I know of between Eureka and Grant's Pass. Maybe Crescent City has an active shop, but likely regular shop rates.

There a few folks near Medford that constantly have saws for sale on Craigslist. Maybe see if they're willing to hire out.

What sort of work do you think might have done? I use to advertise my willingness to fix saws on Craigslist, so possibly look there.

Its been my experience, that everybody puts off maintenance on a saw and by the time it gets looked at it is really really past fixing. Second everybody wants the work done for free or nearly free, and expects something like a new saw after the work is completed. Typical of such people; don't know to or how to sharpen a chain, and consequently the saw has been run to near death making saw dust.

For those reasons I stopped working on saws. I'll do minor things for neighbors, but I can feel their disappointment that it was something simple, and I charged them. Or the saw is not like new again, and their own abuse of the saw quickly brings the saw back to its same problem phase.

It's a no win for the DIY garage fix it guy.

I've also heard the shop in Myrtle Creek is good from some guys at Whitaker Logging&Trucking in Roseburg/Wilbur.