Need advice on Husqvarna 350 rebuild

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DanH

Reaction score
Hi, all,

I've new here and have been reading a lot of posts from years past regarding rebuilding Husqvarna 350s and the like. It seems that I burned mine up this past week. It may have run lean, but the air filter was loose when I pulled the top, so it might have choked on some dirt. Anyway, the piston and cylinder are scored, mostly on the exhaust side, but slightly on the intake as well.

I'm not a mechanic, but I fix most of my mechanical problems. I talked to a local repair shop and was told that the saw wasn't worth fixing, quoting about $265 to fix it. He told me I could take my chances with the internet, so I started looking. I am kind of relieved to see that I can buy a cylinder/piston kit for as low as $25 bucks. However, it looks like there is a lot of talk about modding or upgrading and I can't find anything recent about the best kits.

So, with that said, I have a couple of questions:

1. What would be the easiest option to get this saw up and running? I'd rather not throw good money at cheap junk, but I don't feel like I need the best money can buy either.

2. What would be the best option for putting this saw back together (without having to do any machine work or buying any extra parts such as different carburetors, etc.) that would give me a better saw in the long run?

I would like to keep my budget under $100 if possible. I also need to replace the sprocket, and figure out why the bar oil is leaking out, so I'd rather not spend too much. I don't know much about timing, but if I need to figure that out, I will try to.

Thanks for your help.

Dan

It's gonna be tough to do it right for under 100 the meteor kit is 120 if I was goin aftermarket I think that's what I'd get tear the saw down and see if the cylinder can be saved first