Need career help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beastmaster

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Can any one give me some ideas on jobs in the tree industry besides climbing. I just found out that there are positions like'" production manager". I have many of years experience but I'd like to move up in the tree industry. I saw a city guy yesterday in slacks and a white shirt marking trees. That's what I'm looking for. I'll be working on my AS degree in ornamental horticulture this year and I'm a cert. arborist. Any cool job titles you all can turn me on to and what would be required as far as education and experience. thanks a lot.

I'm a "Tree Warden" if that helps, City Arborist is the title I prefer. Education is good, experience is better, and good people skills are the most important IMO. I've been doing this job for 5 years now, I believe I would have been out of the tree business alltogether if I still had to labor for a living. If you have any specific questions, feel free to ask away..............

I saw a city guy yesterday in slacks and a white shirt marking trees. That's what I'm looking for.

WHY? how old are you? Not trying to be mean but this is one of the problems in our industry, fresh outta college kid with a lil knowledge paintin some trees is gonna tell a 20+yr vet. how to do his job!!!!

Dont you think this job would be/should be offered to the guy/gal who has been in the field & close to retirement, I mean damn! so & so is 58 been trimming for 30-40yrs. how about letting him do this? he could explain to the customers alot better than you ever will about the trimming program.

Nothing like newbees wanting the easy work, Companies are gonna take a hit sooner or later, lets run our veterans into the ground, give the cozy jobs to fresh outta college young kids & not train anybody for the future!!!!