Need opinions on new firewood saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

orange fever

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hello all, I just registered for this forum. I value the opinions of people with real world experience so I would ask you all to share yours. I have been running chainsaws for about 25 years and We are finally moving to the family farm to build a new home this spring. I will be cutting firewood for 4 families. I am the most experienced of all the men, so I will be doing most of the cutting. I do not cut huge trees, maybe up to 30 inches. This saw will see alot of use. I do not want to be short on horsepower. I do not want a bar any longer than 20". I am considering either a Husqvarna 357xp or 575xp. I was also intrigued by the Echo CS520 or CS670. I am leaning toward the 575xp, but I really don't want more weight than is neccesary. Between us we have 5 Poulan saws of varying sizes so I have the trimming, felling, etc. covered with those saws. I just want one good strong saw for most of the cutting to length of the bigger stuff, say 8"-30". Your opinions will be greatly appreciated. PS I am not a Stihl fan, just from my experience with them I am not impressed, so please stick to Husky or Echo.

Why limit to Husky or Echo? I imagine it is due to a good dealer in the area?

The 575 is a bit portly for all around use.....the 372 may or may not make it back into your local.....If you have a Dolmar dealer I would check out the 7300 or 7900 The Echos are OK though I am rather non plussed at what they are power wise