New Business Venture

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Haliburton Rev

Reaction score
Good Afternoon All,

I have a few questions I was hoping some of you may be able to answer. I am sure there will be many seasoned professionals that may jump on me with considerable negativity but here go's.

I am looking to start up or purchase an existing Tree service company. However I am not a professional Arborist, or do I feel I am any way comparable to one. I am however well seasoned as an entrepreneur and am stellar in business management, customer relations and of course sales. I am 34yrs old, have owned and operated 3 separate locations of a leading pizza delivery company. I have since sold those stores and have spent the past 9 years in the automotive industry in a Sales Management position dealing mainly with fleet, commercial and government clients. I have been successful in previous ventures as well as my current career and am very respected by both peers, employee's and product manufacturer's. I am a H.O with property's in both southern and central Ontario. My property in central Ontario is a cottage on a lake and we have roughly 3 acres of bush property. There is nothing I enjoy more up there then working in the bush. Cutting up downed trees for firewood and felling both problem and dead trees is by far a favorite hobby of mine. I have no real formal training and all the experience I have is via a tremendous amount of research and hands on trial. I know it sounds silly and unsafe however I have never considered taking on any tree I felt nervous or unsure about and make safety my main concern.