New guy interested in climbing

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joecool85

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I'm new to chainsaws, by new I mean that 3 months ago I had never used one. I'm 22 years old and I've been working with power tools and outdoor equipment since I was 12 or so. I've been using a Poulan 2375 w/18" bar and a 3hp electric 16" bar saw for the past 3 months and have logged about 10 hours between the two saws. I've also done countless hours of research online, reading books and watching safety videos. I don't just jump into something dangerous without research. I did the same research before I started building guitar amplifiers (dealing with high voltage, can be really dangerous).

Anyway, I'm interested in climbing. I don't really know anything about it other than you climb up a tree with a chainsaw and cut from up there lol. I can see where it would be extremely useful because you could "shorten" the tree before felling it, allowing you to fell a tree near a house or in dense woods where it might have gotten hung up in the canopy without the climber cutting the top off.

So, if someone could point me in the right direction or give me some hints as to how that all works that'd be great. A few questions I have right now are: How hard is it? Do you normally wear climbing gear like when rock climbing? It seems really dangerous, is it as bad as it seems, or is it not so bad if you are careful and do everything by the book?

I'm 5'10" 140lbs, and I can climb trees no problem, just never done it with the intention of cutting it apart.

There is an forum here for just what you are lookin' for. It's one of them at the top of the home page. "Arborist 101"

Also look in the "Commecial tree care and climbing" forum.

Climbing trees and using saws in trees is a whole different ball game. Good luck.