New saw advice (for the 1000th time)

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rbr28

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Just looking for some quick help purchasing a new chainsaw. I've done a lot of research and see how the Husqvarna's and Stihls are always highly rated, but none of those are in my budget range. I've never used a chainsaw before and am looking for something for pretty limited use.

I recently had to have some trees removed for a new septic system on my lot, and the contractors just left everything they knocked down with the tractor. I now have a huge pile of trees, mostly small stuff ranging from just a couple inches in diameter, up to maybe a foot in diameter for a couple larger poplars. I need to get that pile cut up (I've been working on it with a bow saw and ax for weeks and have had enough of that), and beyond that I don't see using the saw much more than occasionally for cutting branches, and fairly small trees. My lot is completely wooded, but only 2 acres, and we don't have a use for firewood, so I don't see "heavy use" with the saw.