New to Arboristsite and Milling

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dreid

Reaction score
I've been lurking for awhile and have done some milling (Eastern White Pine) using a Husky 372 and an Alaskan Mill. Very fun and very addictive. My question is how do other Alaskan Millers sharpen your ripping chains? My chain (from Bailey's) seemed to bog down after a few slabs of EWP. Is there a special angled grinder that you use? Any advice and ideas would be much appreciated.

Dave in NH

Hi dreid and welcome. I bought one of the clamp on attachments that clamp to your bar. I have had pretty good luck with it. Im still learning how to sharpen properly but this seems to work pretty good for me. Its not a grinder type just a file guide but you can still set it to the desired filing angle. Good luck.

Last edited:
dreid said:
I've been lurking for awhile and have done some milling (Eastern White Pine) using a Husky 372 and an Alaskan Mill. Very fun and very addictive. My question is how do other Alaskan Millers sharpen your ripping chains? My chain (from Bailey's) seemed to bog down after a few slabs of EWP. Is there a special angled grinder that you use? Any advice and ideas would be much appreciated.

Dave in NH

Welcome to AS,
On your chain I also use the bar clamp on type guide. I have never
cut or milled any pine of any kind so I won't be any help their. But
was the bark very dirty, dirt will dull a chain very fast.

I use an oregon clamp-on filing guide, and a stump vise.

Bailey's has the granberg version; same angle ability but a little cheaper than what I paid;

http://store.baileys-online.com/cgi-bin/baileys/31?mv_session_id=MQIBC7tJ&product_sku=15200

They also have the stump vise for cheap:

http://store.baileys-online.com/cgi-bin/baileys/1218?mv_session_id=MQIBC7tJ&product_sku=15246