New to carving

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cornfed

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm new to carving and would like to learn more about the secrets. I've tried to carve the "Cute Little Bear" like the author on the video I bought, but it wasn't a bear but some kind of woodland creature? My point is, is there someone that can give me some pointers on how to carve and what kind of wood to use? I was told to use soft wood instead of hard wood? I have a 017 stihl that I was thinking of putting a carving bar and chain on. Is this a good saw to use? Any help would be great! :help:

Welcome to the site!

I am in no way a professional carver or any type of expert on this subject but can only speak from my experience as an avid reader, researcher on all things chainsaw/wood related, and carver for the the past 4 years. There is a lot to talk about and not really that much specific information out there. But I believe this is because the preferred tools, types of wood, and methods of sculpting are as numerous as the amount of people who use them. So I have been trying to prepare a free how to page on my website, once I get it done, that will hopefully jump start the newbie carver and give them an overview of the basics in each of these and other categories. I will also be adding some detailed videos to further enhance the free info provided.

Protective/Safety Equipment
Safe Saw Handling
Tools-various bar/chain set ups, grinders, attachments,torches,etc
Types of Wood
Jigs/Tricks/Tips
Subtractive Sculpture 101
Finishing Techniques

It is an ever expanding work in progress but one day i will get it all put up on the web.

From the looks of your signature you are not new to chainsaws and have access to several different saw sizes.