Newbie Question!!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bfd_ast

Reaction score
I own a small lawn care bis. I am a full time firefighter! Ok my question is I was looking at maybe doing this as a add on! Is it worth it or is it to time consuming! I thought I would ask the pros!!!!
:confused: :confused:

Welcome to AS brother. I'm also a full time FF (IAFF Local 865). I'd say tree work fits perfectly with my schedule (and probably yours too.)

That said, it took me quite a while to learn the ropes, though. I worked full time for a tree service for years before I became a FF, and then started my own co. as a side job (I don't know many FF's without a side job!)
You might benefit from working for a local tree co for a while to see first if you like it, and second to see if you are any good at it. You will also have to lay out a bit of $ in the beginning to start up (including insurance - your lawn policy probably does not cover trees). Another thing to think about is your health insurance. Tree work is dangerous, and you can easily get hurt badly enough to lose time at your real job (or actually lose your job!). Your policy may not cover injuries sustained while not on the job.

You could also branch your lawn business out to cover tree fert. and spraying, without the startup costs and learning curve of a full service tree co. It will take quite a bit of time to learn the signs and symptoms of tree issues (I'm learning more and more all the time), but it might get you where you need to be money-wise.

Good luck if you go for it. My advice is to start slow, learn the ropes, and then build the business as you go.

I see you are from Ashville NC. Ashville FD or Black MTN ,etc.
Been a Vol. for fifteen years. Cove Creek VFD. Asst. Chief 13 years.