Newbie saw selection for mini mill?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

English Oak

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hello, i'm new to this site and are in need of some advice.I'm a student in England doing design and working mainly in locally grown hardwoods.

I've just bought a granberg mini mill (the one that rides on top of the log) and I just want to know want kind of saw people recommend using? I have a stihl 170 myself but this takes along time to slab anything. My friend says I should get a Stihl 361 with a 20" bar but over here in England its alot of money for one. Any advice would be great, Thanks. Tom :help:

it depends on how big the wood is over there and what kind of you will be milling most time....

Well i'm wanting to mill medium size timber about 12" to 20" hardwoods. I use alot of 1"1/2 Ash and 1" oak so that the kind of wood which I want to use. I make alot of slab furniture. So Some thing with some good power but nothering too pro.:)

English Oak said:
Well i'm wanting to mill medium size timber about 12" to 20" hardwoods. I use alot of 1"1/2 Ash and 1" oak so that the kind of wood which I want to use. I make alot of slab furniture. So Some thing with some good power but nothering too pro.:)
...that last part of your post is an oxymoron. If you want to mill wood, you will need a relatively powerful saw, and one that will stand up to the rigors of milling. "nothing too pro" won't cut it. You can get away with (minimum) the MS361 or say a Husky 365 or 372 if you don't venture much past 10-12 inch stuff. More than that, especially hardwood like the oak and ash you refer too, will need a more powerful saw. No way around that, sorry. Milling simply take more power than cutting firewood.