Northern grinder help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

314epw

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
On most chain sharpening how does the tilt work?Set it at 10 degrees forward and do both sides.Or set 10 degrees for one side and change to the 10 degrees for the other side?
thanks
Ed

For round ground chain, set the vertical pitch at 60 degrees.

Set the horizontal angle (right & left teeth) at 30 degrees for semi-chisel, 25 degrees for chisel tooth. Quite a bit different for ripping chain, but I have no experience there, so I can't advise.

If your table has an angle adjustment in it (horizontal axis parallel to the cut), I have always left it at zero. Some may prefer otherwise. This angle change will alter the fit of the wheel into the tooth and also the precise shape of the gullet where it meets the wheel. Experiment, and see what you like.

Last edited:
grinder help

I understand the 60 degree,and the 25 or 30 degree for the top of the cutters.What I'm asking about is after you swing to the 30 degree or 25 degree angle,there is also an adjustment from zero to 10 degrees.

I understand the 60 degree,and the 25 or 30 degree for the top of the cutters.What I'm asking about is after you swing to the 30 degree or 25 degree angle,there is also an adjustment from zero to 10 degrees.

Yes. Standard issue on many grinders, esp. Oregon. Read my post again, I edited it to include the "long horizontal axis" angle adjustment. Perhaps you missed it on the first read.