Outside air intake for interior wood stove..has any one done it??

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woodguy105

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
I've been burning wood for about 7 years. I 've got a Travis Industries LOPI Answer that I'm thinking of venting for outside combustion air (instead of sucking up the warm interior air). I know the manufacturer has the set up & specs for connecting the vent, but I'd like to hear from anyone using outside cumbustion air for an indoor wood stove pros & cons?

My stove has great draft w/ a straight pipe up through the ceiling. I'm just wondering if the stone cold ouside air will impact the efficiency even though it's supposed to be "prewarmed" within he unit before hiting the cumbusttion chamber.

Any thoughts or experiences.

FYI I love my LOPI Answer-one of three wood stoves that we have.
Thanks-
:cheers:

been running outside air for combustion from day one.

air comes in from bottom via ash dump chute.

Insert is a JUCA that uses existing fire brick floor. I've got sliding vents to control use of interior air too. but those are closed down, with all combustion air coming from outside.

How does this help? Does using the inside air create some kind of vacuum that makes your insulation and windows less effective or something?

How does this help? Does using the inside air create some kind of vacuum that makes your insulation and windows less effective or something?

Seems to me that instead of causing " a vacum" of air up the chimney, use outside air directly connected to the stove inlet and keep the cold outside air from being sucked in through all of the nooks and crannies.

Treeco's woodheat.org link looks at it a bit differently..

It amazes me how many people misread that site :dizzy:

Simply because they are addressing a completely different issue.