OWB Temp

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rhizando

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys I'm new to the forum but read this section about every day.

Anyways I have a Woodmaster 4400 and was wondering what kind of max temps you guys see on your OWB.

Just the other day I went out and saw the temp on my boiler water had reached 204 degrees. I have my setting for the boiler set at 160-170. I believe the wind plus the fact that all my zones including my hot water tank were not calling for heat had something to do with it.

Now I'm not worried about the boiler, but I am worried about the pex tubing. I think its only rated for 180 degrees.

Anyone else see there temps rise this high?

That seems high to me I could be wrong! when you open door is their fire or alot of coals burning? Mine (Royal) was around 200 one time last year.Blower was off but their was a small fire still going (air leak)I replaced door seal and it fixed the problem.

I am on my third year with my Woodmaster 4400. I have never had a temperature that high for any reason. I have burned some Kiln Dried Oak flooring and that was the hottest fire I have every had and it shot past the blower off temperature to 175 or so.....but never as high as 204.

I think you have a leak in the door gasket or the damper is not closing properly. When the blower turns off there is a metal damper that closes inside the door to limit the amount of air - and yours may not be working properly. Without an air supply, the furnace should not overshoot the shut off temperature by very much regardless of the demand of the heating system.

I will have to check when I get home, is there anyway to see that its stuck open from looking underneath the door? The seal on the door looks pretty good, although I did notice that once in a while a bit of smoke will come out from hole where the damper lever enters the box.