Play "How Much to Climb and Drop That Tree"

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ductape

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I've got a sugar maple in my back yard I've decided i want down. Its got some health issues with a bunch of dead limbs. I want the wood for firewood, and can / would like to be a groundie on tree removal day. I can get a couple guys to come over and help zip it up....... I'd just need someone to climb, limb, and get it on the ground. I'm not good at estimating heights, but maybe 60' tall and 32"ish around at the trunk.It would be easiest to get help on a weekend....... and it would be a cash money job.

July2008004.jpg

July2008002.jpg

July2008001.jpg

piece of cake.

i'd do all the lower limbs, then control-drop it in the same direction as the camera.

Last edited:
where are you?

looks to be nothing underneath it.

if you are near me i could come up and put it on the ground for a fair price.

all gear needed i have.

i can come up on a saturday if its not snowing because of plowing obligations.

you in?

Our local guy, he's done a few jobs for people I know so the prices he charges are reliably known. I'd say his estimate would be $2200.

$2200 to put that on the ground? Hmmmm....

Depending on the working area that isn't shown, I'd say that tree would take 2 hours to get down, 3 tops....

Now, if the job entailed full clean-up, and wood removal, then maybe that price would be in the ballpark....

My friend got quoted a job after the ice-storm. Maple tree hanging over his house, partially touching it. Not near as large or near as big as that tree but a lot more conseqeuences involved. He got charged 2500 bucks. They hauled the wood out and chipped out the small stuff.

piece of cake.

i'd do all the lower limbs, then control-drop it in the same direction as the camera.