Please help me locate a fault-McCulloch

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

medusa

Reaction score
Please bear with me as I am rather new to attempting repairs on a chainsaw.

I have a McCulloch Mac 335 (it may be a european only model, but it is 34cc engine and 14inch chain, uses Walbro WT391 carb).

It started to smoke badly and lacked power, I knew it was burning a lot of oil, then it started to race (high idle speed, chain runs when idling). So I stopped promptly.

Discovered that chain oil rather than 2stroke oil was mixed with the gasoline, in error !!!, (petrol as we call it here in the UK).

I emptied the tank and washed it best I can with gasoline, and cleaned air filter, mixed fresh fuel and oil...etc.

I can start it with difficulty, but when it starts it is still idling way too fast and the idling adjustment (T) is ineffective, I can litrally take it counter clockwise almost till the screw is out without slowing the engine.

The L and H adjustments, I left with the limiters in place for now, but they seem to have some effect (all be it so slight, as I can only turn them 1/4 of a turn within the limiters).

I would appreciate your help here.

Is it likely that this is an air leak? (Or just blocked jets ?)

What is the best way to go about repairing it?. I can get a carb diaphragm and gasket kit. But I do not seem to be able to locate a source where I can get a crankcase gasket.

Your input and ideas will be greatly appreciated...Thanks in advance

You should probably start by taking the carb apart and cleaning it. I've never heard what effect using bar oil can have, others will doubtless tell you in detail, but it may well have gunged up the carbs internal passageways. start by stripping it down and a thorough cleaning. You don't say how long you ran the saw on this wrong mix for but you probably haven't damaged the diaphragm.