Poulan 2150 Build Thread

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Homer6679

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I'm using a 2150 as the first saw that I modify and port to start learning the craft. I chose this saw because a have a few cylinders on hand. That way if I screw something up, I can just try again at really no loss. I will be updating this thread with pictures and video in steps as noted below.

- Stock
- Muff Mod
- Muff Mod + Exhaust porting (Not changing timing numbers)
- Muff Mod + Exhaust porting (Not changing timing numbers) + Intake "Roughing"
- Muff Mod + Exhaust Porting + Intake "Roughing"

I plan to have the forementioned be my workflow so that I can Isolate variables at least a little bit to see what does what to the saw.

I am new to this and welcome any advice or feedback.

Here is the stock saw running, attached is a video. Not much to see, just here for comparison to later iterations. I will make 2 cuts for every iteration.

Attachments

• Stock Poulan 2150 (1).mp4
    30.3 MB
Here are some pictures of the muff mod that I did as well as a video of how it changed the saw.

Attachments

• Poulan 2150 Muff Mod (1).mp4
    44.3 MB
  • IMG_6609.jpeg
    IMG_6609.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_6611.jpeg
    IMG_6611.jpeg
    2.5 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_6612.jpeg
    IMG_6612.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_6613.jpeg
    IMG_6613.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
any idea where your timing numbers are or how far you want to mod this saw?

I assume that saw is gonna be close to my poulan wild thing that I modified and it turned up really well. here's a video to give u an idea of what you can get out of them.

These are the timing numbers I pulled off the stock saw. I would like to go as far as I can with the tools that I have with the saw.

Here are the mods that I know of
- mufflers
- exhaust porting/timing
- intake porting/timing