Poulan 3800 porting questions

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Recently picked up a Poulan 3800 in awesome condition. But what a friggin turd saw. Has decent low end but super slow. It does have the plated piston and aluminum cylinder and they’re still in great shape. It is an open port cyl.
I’d like to breathe some pep into this thing but I think I need some direction with numbers and such.
I tore it down and got the stock numbers.
With base gasket:
Squish .047
Ex: 98 ATDC
Transf: 120 ATDC
Int: 64 BTDC

Yanked the base gasket and got:
Squish: .037
Ex: 100
Transf: 122
Int: 66

Ideally I’d like another ten thou off the squish but I don’t have a lathe so I suppose that’s that.

As for target numbers, im thinking (maybe):

I’m new to porting so I’m at still trying to get the hang of what numbers work with what saw. I’ve done a husky 262 and a 353 that turned out pretty fun but this saw sort of has me stumped and I couldn’t find much info on hotrodding these older poulans. Any ideas or advice is greatly welcomed and maybe this thread will benefit other members.

Did some grinding this evening after work.
Started by just putting down a piece of 120 sand paper on a flat surface and spinning the cylinder with even pressure. I was able to get the squish down to .033.
I then started widening and shaping the exhaust port. It was very ovular and had some pretty rough tapers into a square port. I opened up the ends and did some blending. I haven’t put a finish on it yet and I think I may still work the end of the port. Currently the exhaust is at my target of 98°
I then put a quick texture on the intake and made a couple quick passes over the bottom of the port and that brought it to 68°. I thought about going more but if I end up taking more off the base, it may put me at my target of 70°.