Question for skidsteer/diesel eng. gurus

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
hmmmm.

so i'm a landscaper that uses a 75 horse skidsteer most days. we drive it full bore into rocks accidentally, drive it into piles of dirt on purpose, bounce it around, tip it on its nose picking up too much do wheeleys, pick up logs, pallets, rocks, and generally beat teh liviing snot out of it.

and she had 3500 hours when i bought it.

as i envision this, you guys are taking some goofy mower thingy, winding the skid up to max rpm, adn letting the engine go to work?????

do you regularly drop it off 3 foot cliffs???? cold starts at 20 below? drive wide open into trees?????

i thought not.

running it wide open and using the hydraulics full time is what the goofy thing was designed for. your salesman was a total idiot. ask the idiot salesman to show you the hydraulic cooler. it is larger then the radiator.

to be fair, at 4000 hours most steers are trashed, but it is boom, drive system, bucket hinges, hoses, that go. the engines are industrial diesels that would go 20,000 hours easy if you didn't run them out of water or oil.

We do things with a rental that I would flip out on the kid for doing with our machine.Our 773 with Hi Flow on most days is more than fine to get the job done.We put the tracks on it and it becomes a different machine.we run a modified brushcat mower that handles 3" to 6"trees and brush with no problem,depending on the type of tree(sumac/Russian olive6",oak maple3").
We also use a backhoe and tree shear on this machine.The tree shear can get REAL hairy if you grab something you really shouldn't.Again common sense
is the key.
The thing that I find useful is with the counter weight kit the 773 will lift around a ton and still give you access into back yards for residential work when you need a smaller machine.