Recs for good fixer saws? New guy interested in learning

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

makey98

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello all, I have no experience with felling or bucking and cutting for firewood, but it is always something I have wanted to do. Truthfully, I want to split more than anything. Now that I am a desk jockey all the time I rarely get a chance to do manual work anymore. My dream is to one day own some land and cut and split for wood stove heat in my hunting cabin but that dream keeps getting pushed further out there....

Anyway, I wanted to learn and get some training and I do have an uncle that heats with wood and has experience and plan to go with him at some point, just haven't had a chance to do that. I also wanted to take a class of some sort because I am very safety conscious. After that, I was thinking about trying to find some farmers with a woods and volunteer my time to cut up fallen trees and split but don't know how that will go. Liability for other people and all. So we will see. Bucking and cutting are always dangerous but on a different level than falling trees it seems, so that seems like a place to start. In the meantime to figure that out......

I was curious on if I eventually bought a chainsaw what I would buy and its fun to look. So I have looked around but one thing I thought might be fun would be to find an old saw and fix it up and learn how they are put together in the process. Dont' have much small engine experience and it might be kind of fun to learn. What do you think about that? I have some concern about using a saw that i personally built, but I thought the same thing about an old gun I put together, but by the time i got it together I knew that gun like the back of my hand.