I did a thing!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Glad2BNico

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
So I'm a newbie to all things 2-cycle engines. But I'm also a nerd and dive DEEP into new hobbies. If you ask my wife, I'm basically obsessive. I've now owned my first chainsaw for 2 weeks, a used Stihl 029 Super. Based on everything I've been reading, I ported the muffler and tuned the carbs (just by ear). I also picked up an old, used Granberg G104B, File-N-Joint, and this thing is amazing. The 20" Bar might be a bit overkill as I'm just cutting wood for heat next winter, and pretty soon, I'll be stacking for the winter after that. I'd get crap from my buddies if I were to say that wood is basically free heat, but when I call it a new hobby that is fun, good exercise and I get the benefit of reduced heat costs in the winter, no one can argue!

What's something you wish you knew when you were just starting out? Anything about splitting, sourcing firewood, learning to identify trees by their bark (I'm getting most of my wood from the community compost area) Chainsaw maintenance, etc.

I've really enjoyed this forum and have learned a bunch from the different threads, thanks to all who contribute!

Learn how to sharpen the chain and make it habit to keep it sharp in your spare time so that it is always ready to go.

Make a dry storage wood shed to keep the rain/snow off of your wood, I still have not made my self do this one and find myself dragging out to pull the tarp over every time it rains.