Ripping chain problems

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matildasmate

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Anyone know what problem i am havin with my ripping chain? Ive been useing short bars 24" for a couple of years, just started using 36" bar on large blackwood log , but having problems,doesnt seem to want to cut.So I tried ripping roughly half way through the log for the full length of the log and then changed to the 36" bar to finish the job which worked fine.But the question is how come i cant rip full width with the 36" bar,pretty weird stuff.Can anyone help THANKS? I use a Stihl ms660 91.5cc chainsaw

Can you describe your problem a little more?? It looks like you're no newbie to milling, certainly got a lot more lumber there than I do in my weak pile, so I know you have a pretty good idea what you're doing. What's going on with the saw?? Also, do you have an auxiliary oiler installed?? Some of your down under logs make our white oak, hickory, and locust look soft in comparison. Don't mean to suggest common simple solutions, I just don't know enough details.

Looks like you've designed your mill ( pretty sweet setup by the way) a lot like the logosol mill. They use the thin-kerf 3/8 chain or similar. I tried using carlton 3/8 low profile ripping chain and kept pulling apart drive links with my (stock with a muffler mod--maybe 7.5HP??) husqvarna 394XP. Before I pulled them apart I was getting a lot of vibration, and not-so-smooth cuts because of so much chain swing, even with it properly tensioned. This bound pretty easily if the chain bogged down.

Are you wedging the cut?? I know blackwood is incredibly heavy.