Runners from nectarine tree

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Norman Brown

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Over the past several years, I have gotten several sprouts from the roots from my nectarine tree. I have cut the small ones, only to have more come out. I now have several sizable ones and I am wondering what is the best/safest-to-the-tree way of removing these pesky growths AND prevent them from spouting up in the first place. Any help would be appreciated.

I have no personal experience with a product called 'Sucker Stopper" but several here have reported good results. If it is possible to cut the sprouts below grould without severing large parent roots that will help prevent some regrowth. To varying degrees light plays a factor in root sprouting (some species only sprout from exposed roots , some from roots within a couple of inches of the soil surface, and a few species from pretty deep.) Covering the root zone with a good mulch may assist in preventing sprouts. Mulching can definitely help in many other ways.:)

Originally posted by Norman Brown

Over the past several years, I have gotten several sprouts from the roots from my nectarine tree. I have cut the small ones, only to have more come out. I now have several sizable ones and I am wondering what is the best/safest-to-the-tree way of removing these pesky growths AND prevent them from spouting up in the first place. Any help would be appreciated.

We often miss the likelyhood that a tree puts out watersprouts (on the limbs and trunk) and suckers (new trees starting from the ground) in an attempt to respond to problems. At this time in the tree world, we have all sorts of conditioned reflexes that keep us from seeing an underlying cause and instead send us scurrying off to "fix" a symptom.