Saw chain basics

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Phil T

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Newbie here and posting my first thread. I have some questions about saw chain and haven't come across any clear answers in my searches through this excellent forum.

Let me give some background on my chainsaw use and future needs.

We have a 7 acre lot, fully wooded and are getting close to starting construction of our new house there. So far we have cleared for the driveway and the home site using a track hoe to push trees over. The driveway is graveled and we have a lot of trees on the ground in several areas waiting to be dealt with. Most of the stumps are already removed but there are a few more. I'd estimate that the area we actually cleared is about 1.5 to 1.75 acres. (1000+ foot drive and house site).

So far I am not felling anything, just limbing and bucking trees that have been down for up to 6 months. Once we are in the house however, I will begin thinning the trees and dealing with a few that were already blown over when we bought the lot but were not in the way of progress.

We have quite a pile of cut rounds and are renting a splitter this weekend. I think we'll have easily 6-8 cords with more on the way over time. I plan to sell the bulk of this to try and recover some of the cost on saws and rentals but will keep what we cut later for heating. (look for me over in the home heating forum later on) There are also two large piles of smaller trees and limbs that we will chip for the mulch (we need LOTS of mulch).

I am actually a little late in asking these questions since we are almost done with the trees we cleared. But having just found this site about a week ago and the fact that I am learning more about the saws all the time I guess I didn't know enough to know what I didn't know. Heh. :dizzy: