Siezed Engine--ProMac610 oops!!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChainsawChick

Reaction score
:chainsaw:

I am a newbie chain saw user but have basic knowledge about 2 cycle engines. OK, you can shoot me now or later for this long, detailed but funny story. Once upon a time, there once was a girl in a land far, far away.........I had borrowed a Pro Mac610 with a 20 inch bar from a friend to cut up a HUGE Elm tree that I got for free on craigslist as well as some other wood that I picked up when the local Utilities came through the area and cut down a number of trees. My friend gave me a container of premixed gas which I believe was appx 30:1

Over the next several weeks another good friend of mine and a local day laborer with chainsaw/tree experience helped me cut up a bunch of the wood bit by bit. I had wanted to plow through a bunch of it since the project seemed to keep dragging on so we set aside a Sunday afternoon to cut the rest of the logs down to size so I could rent the wood splitter the following weekend. By this time we had used up the original can of gas and had mixed up several more by using the premeasured little plastic containers of oil to a gallon of gas. I didn't think through the entire process and thought that the 50:1 ratio was providing a richer mixture and not a leaner mixture, and besides the local guy said that it would be OK so I kept using the 50:1.

On this particular Sunday my friend and I worked for about 4-5 hours straight before seizing up the Pro Mac610. In retrospect, we analyzed that potentially the combination of the following contributed to the seizer--
1) slightly leaner gas/oil mixture
2) working the chainsaw 4-5 hours straight
3) the HUGE elm was especially dense/hard and had an extra large diameter for the bar length and saw