Smallest Crew

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ZandarKoad

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello! I'm completely new to the entire industry. I'm looking into the field because I won't have to work against my conscience to do it (it's honest work), it's high risk/responsibility/liability (generally, these all translate into higher pay), and I'm not afraid of heights. I've got a friend who's been doing this kind of work for a city municipality for three years, and he thinks it would be a perfect fit for me. I'm personally interested in doing it on my own (rather than on someone else's crew) and I currently have one question for all you veterans:

What is the smallest crew possible?

Can two men handle, say, 80% or 90% of the work out there? Or do you need 3 or more guys for most of the work? How much work can ONE man do alone? Etc...

it will all depend on what the job is. if you go after the biggest d*^&* Tree in the county just for the Rep or if you do 5 or 6 little trim jobs for the same money. Trimming can be done with 2 good guys 1 climber and a good ground person. you can even do some small tree removals with 2 ,you just work harder. depending how new you are to this work you may want to work for someone for a bit just to see how it is done

crew

the most important thing is experience and training and how well you know how to do a job and bid it.i run one crew with 3 guys on larger jobs 4 guys.the problem is the more work your guy does that is the climber or trimmer the more he is going to be wore out which is a safety consern.my guy or myself if im cutting do not do any ground work until the tree is on the ground.the other thing if it is two guys your branches are going to stack up and get tangeled which will cost you more time and money.be safe use the right amount of man power for the job you are doing safety first