Starting a Tree Care Service.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

minifly3

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have been compiling a list of equipment to start my own tree climbing business. I was wondering it my equipment list and rough cost where accurate or if i was way low or high and any other advice you could provide..

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AloSVqmVl7QVdG5vM0tnWVg3Y2x3ODhMR1M3aEFjVGc

is the link to google docs spreadsheet. I have thought about splitting up the climbing kit and getting a buckinham versatile saddle instead and saving alittle cash.. or is the treemotion harness worth the extra?

Ye, the home depot wheelbarrow i was hoping to get some life out of until i find a better option.. I am new to the business, i am currently a college student studying horticulture/arboriculture. I'm hopefully working this summer with davey tree then after college gonna work part time for myself and part time for a tree outfit.

New guy working for Davey ? Do you have any previous experience doing treework ? If not, all you should need this summer is items 7,8 and 17. Probably a pair of 17 every week.
Rick

Davey in Ontario takes on a few people each year from the colleges for the summer to use as groundies. Most of our schools gear was donated by Davey aswell

Wait until you work in the field prior to buying equipment. You will be a groundman prior to being able to climb. You can see what equipment others use base on their climbing style. You will also see the advantages and disadvantages to some equipment.

Thanks Bomber that is something very smart that never really crossed my mind. I have used the versatile saddle, and rope but i havent really had the chance to try many varietys

I was thinking of maybe just getting the climbing kit from sherill tree this summer so i could practice climbing and throwing at home aswell