Starting a tree service business

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PistonRay

Reaction score
I'm trying to do some research on starting a tree service in CA. The following are my main questions:

Do I need a contractors and/or other type of license from the state?
Do I need to be insured and for what, how much?
Are there any other types of certifications and/or requirements for operating a tree service business in CA?
What else am I missing?

I have been a wildland firefighter for 20 years and I have extensive experience cutting down big, small, green, dead and fire weakened trees. I also have experience teaching chainsaw operation as well as advanced falling techniques. I have also used chippers quite extensively as well. Currently I have an MS460 and MS??? (the smallest top handled saw Stihl makes), a truck and trailer, no climbing gear and no formal climbing training. Other than occasionaly climbing and limbing trees for friends I don't know much about being an arborist.

If I decide to do it, I'm thinking I would just start by getting the required license, insurance, etc. and work small side jobs while retaining my job as a firefighter. If I am succesful and have enough business, then my goal would be to run the tree service full time and retire from firefighting.

Thank you for your time if you respond.

I'm trying to do some research on starting a tree service in CA. The following are my main questions:

Are there any other types of certifications and/or requirements for operating a tree service business in CA?
What else am I missing?