Stihl 025 Could use some advice on replacing bearing and seals.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Roy Hockett

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have a Stihl 025 that had a bad idle so I tried a new carb. That did not work so I took it in to Stihl and they told me I had a leak on seals most likely. Took home and did a pressure check with a vac and psi. Bad. Leak on chain side. I have torn the unit down and have ordered new bearing and seals from Red barn on Ebay. At this time I am waiting on parts. The local Stihl parts store wanted about $24 for each bearing and each seal. Another one was $16 each for seals and $9. for each bearing. So thought I would go online instead.
My questions are several at this time since I have never done this before. Have watched a few videos on You Tube. I guess a product for high temp silicone would be Dirko and maybe something called Yamabond 4 to put on seals after seals are installed. I still have to get the old bearing off of the crankshaft I was going to try some dry ice at $1.25 lb from the grocery store to cool down the shaft so the bearing will slide off and off. Would I be better off sanding down the crank slightly to get bearing off and on I was wondering about lubing up the seals before installing them into the case over the shaft. I have checked this Yamabond 4 and it is a high temp silicone too. Does it matter which one I use? I wanted to put a seal something on top of seal edges also. Which one of this two products would be better to use for base gasket since the 025 has no gasket. Does anyone know where I can download a Stihl 025 repair manual? I appreciate any help you guys can supply. I am retired at 71 and a retired refrig mechanic but have always had rough time on carbs. Trying dry ice because have experience with liquid nitrogen temps, use to produce the stuff years ago.
thanks Roy H