Stihl 041 AV Tillotson Carb--Newb Needs Help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jstroke

Reaction score
Greetings All,

New member, complete newb.

I inherited an 041 av. It does not have a chain brake, just a protective guard. It seems to be in pretty good shape, everything seems to be where it should and nothing is broken. I was told the saw has a brand new carb, and has been gone through. It starts, but it idles way too fast and it doesn't throttle up. It simply bogs out each time I blip the throttle. I haven't cut any wood yet. I have hunted for some answers but here are some questions.

If I am looking at the side of the saw with the carb settings facing me, I see three screws

The first screw is alone and is not a part of the carb. It sits to the left. It is physically a bigger diameter screw. It is near the outside of the saw body. There is a "cut out" for lack of a better term in the orange part of the saw body around it. It seems to possibly be an idle screw.

There are two screws--needles in the carb itself--one over the other vertically--very close together. They are smaller in diameter. They are much more under the top portion of the saw body and very much a part of the carb.

Which Screw is which--nothing is labeled

What are the initial settings for these three screws.

Thanks for the help

If u have never adjusted a carb don't!!!!!! find some that has and let them teach u!! also u might have a leak need to do a pressure and vacuum test

Yep, find someone that knows. Also, get into the chainsaw section of this site and you'll find a lot of good help and resources if you are interested in learning. That big screw is your idle speed. Cant really ruin your saw playin with that, but the 2 close together are the high/low mixture and you could burn up your saw playin with those. Sounds like you got an air leak on the intake boot maybe.