Stihl 066 RUD during milling

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tom_

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi there, I'm an amateur woodworker and have recently gotten into milling and drying my own lumber using a Stihl 066 (and lo pro milling chain and bar). Halfway through a nice bit of oak, the saw cut out and the pull cord wouldn't move to re-start. Turns out we'd had a RUD (Rapid Unintentional Disassembly - to borrow the term) of the clutch - one of the arms had sheared and the clutch must have fallen apart whilst the saw was running.

Took it to a Stihl dealer/repair shop for a look and they quoted for a new cylinder and piston (looks like some scoring from looking through the exhaust port once I've taken the muffler off), clutch, drum, and a couple of other bits to make this all work (needle bearing, washer etc which all seemed to go missing when the clutch fell apart). I'd rather do the work myself so would appreciate your thoughts on the below.

I'm new to this and trying to learn from here / Youtube. Would value your advice and input on:

What else should be replaced when changing the cylinder and piston? - I have a new cylinder/piston kit from Meteor which seems to be a good choice from looking at other posts on here. I'm comfortable installing this and have new gaskets (cylinder and muffler side). Whilst it's off, are there any other parts which you'd recommend replacing? The saw is c. 20 years old so might be time to replace a few bits?

Do I need to worry about replacing anything else on the drive side? I'm conscious that the oil pump is just below the clutch so if there were parts of the clutch flying around in this region should I be testing the pump or anything else?

Here's a couple of photos that might help:

IMG-4640.JPG
IMG-4641.JPG

Looks like that shaft has gotten helluva hot... I'd start by checking & measuring that.