Stihl MS 361

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Well the cylinder is broken for starters.
Buy it for $50, jb weld the flange and run it as is.
Ok i gotcha. Im kinda new in the chainsaw world so i ask these questions to learn not to dispute or anything like that. I didnt know if id be able to run it safely if i found a way to mount the muffler without having to do all the replacing since it has killer compression still? I gladly listen and take all advise i can get! And i appreciate your time and efforts in responding to my questions

I know a few good welders myself. Just wasnt sure if it was worth doin eith the way the piston looked even though it has killer compression still? And make McCulloch great again? Have ya seen my ProMac 10-10 is scored for $15? Runs great. I posted pics a while back

You guys think it would be worth me buying it for $50 as is?
I've had a 2nd hand 036 for several years and loved it. When the top end went bad (sudden lack of compression), I spent less than $150 on a new Meteor P&C and seals and a cylinder gasket. Now it runs great. In your situation, I would check out the carb, pressure/vacuum test the motor and consider the condition of the B&C & sprocket. If you buy it for $50, you could spend $150 on it, if necessary, and have a good saw for a reasonable price. If you need a new carb kit, bar, chain, and sprocket, as well, you might want to pass it up. I think repairing the damaged cylinder is a bad idea, because you might pay a welder as much as a new cylinder is worth and have a repair that could fail anytime. That's just my opinion. T-A

What you see is what i would get. There's no bar, chain or muffler. So id need those things plus the repair or replacement of the cylinder and piston. Is an MS361 a really common saw? Id rather put my money into something not very common. Id say rare but cant afford rare! Lol