Stump Grinder Modification

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

howel07264

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
After spending untold hours with a come-a-long getting my carlton 4400-4 out of the mud i decided to do something about it. ended up mounting a ramsey 6000lb. electric winch on one end of my stumper. also added a removable t-bar to stand/ride on. The winch has allowed me to get to almost any stump. Also i can winch off to a tree uphill and feel safe on steep banks. Another benefit riding the t-bar ,i dont have to worry about the drive wheels running over my heels anymore while walking along side the machine. Another plus is the added weight has eliminated wheel hop and vastly improved steering traction. Ive been using this system for last 3 years and has worked great. It would be interesting to see any other mods. you guys have made to your equipment.

View attachment 30336[/ATTACH]

nice looking modification. It seems like a great idea. I'm interested in seeing further pictures of the setup. The Winch mounting seems pretty straight forward however i'm interested in seeing the attachement you are standing on.

Thanks.